Acceptance. Resurrection. Enlightenment. 8×01 Scene Insights.

Could Be Brain Damage..

Does anyone else suspect that Frank’s ramblings about Buddhism is setting the stage for each Gallagher’s story arc this season?

After Frank exits the temple and returns home, he says to Carl: “Acceptance, Resurrection, Enlightenment. We have to deny the existence of a permanent entity that remains constant behind the changing corporeal, or incorporal, components of a living being. All things are in a constant state of flux. All is changing. And no permanent state exists by itself.”

Transformation sounds like it is the name of the game this season. I am beginning to see parallels between the Buddhist ideals of climbing the ladder to spiritual enlightenment and the Gallagher ideals of climbing the ladder to a higher social class. Each character is already starting to dabble with friendships/relationships in social classes outside of their own: Liam’s friend Dylan from his private school. Fiona’s friend Nessa who is from a wealthy suburb. Lip’s friend Brad from AA (and Prof Yuens). Ian’s fellow EMT team. Debbie’s new friends at school. Frank’s boss at the hardware store. These people are not the company usually kept by the Gallagher Family in the past.

Frank also keeps talking about chakras. “Your mother stole my chakra when I was 20 years old.” Coincidentally, there happens to be 7 chakras and 7 people left in the Gallagher family. My prediction is that each chakra – what it represents and how to achieve balance – is going to represent each member’s personal struggle this season.

“Chakra” is an old Sanskrit word that literally translates to wheel. This is because the life force, or prana, that moves inside of you is spinning and rotating. In a healthy, balanced person, the 7 chakras provide exactly the right amount of energy to every part of your body mind and spirit. However, if one of your chakras is too open and spinning too quickly, or if it is closed and spinning too slowly, your health will suffer. (Lip’s use of his fidget spinner when he feels overwhelmed immediately comes to mind.)

Let’s take a look at each of the 7 Chakra’s, what they represent when they are in balance, and what some of the symptoms are when they are out of balance:

  • Root chakra (Red)
    • Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded. Financial & emotional security.
    • Under-active: You feel fearful or nervous.
    • Over-active: You are materialistic and greedy.
  • Sacral chakra (Orange)
    • Represents feeling & sexuality. You are open to intimacy and you can be passionate and lively.
    • Under-active: You tend to be still & unemotional.
    • Over-active: You’ll feel emotionally attached to people and you can be very sexual.
  • Solar plexus chakra (Yellow)
    • Represents feeling in control and you have sufficient self-esteem.
    • Under-active: You tend to be passive & indecisive.
    • Over-active: You are domineering & aggressive.
  • Heart chakra (Green)
    • Represents love, kindness, & affection.
    • Under-active: You tend to be cold & distant.
    • Over-active: You suffocate people with your love & it’s probably for selfish reasons.
  • Throat chakra (Blue)
    • Represents our ability to communicate.
    • Under-active: You tend not to speak much or do not speak the truth.
    • Over-active: You speak too much, usually to domineer & keep people distant. Also, a bad listener.
  • Third eye chakra (Indigo)
    • Represents our ability to focus on & see the big picture. Insight & intuition.
    • Under-active: You are not good at thinking for yourself.
    • Over-active: You live in a world of fantasy & may possibly have hallucinations.
  • Crown chakra (Violet/White)
    • Represents the highest chakra & our ability to be fully connected spiritually & unprejudiced.
    • Under-active: You’re not very spiritually aware and closed minded in your thinking.
    • Over-active: You intellectualize things too much.

Although it is too early in the season to identify which Chakra, if any, each character may be struggling to put into balance, it is interesting to think about who is showing signs and symptoms of one that is spinning out of control. The color associated with each Chakra may become a clue in future episodes, too.